06
Jan
10

How shall we live?

[tweetmeme source=”eldardzhafarov” only_single=false]
I believe that a person should always stand up for what he or she believes in. Anyone has its own set of core personal values and these should be the guiding principles by which to make life decisions.

I will live my life and make decision in accordance to my personal values:

Goal-orientation. I believe that any person today in business world, and not even in business, but in life in general, has to be goal-directed. I say so because when you have a goal, then you know what exactly you want to do in your life and it is, hence, easier to reach that goal. I want to be a successful person in life and I believe goal-seeking is a means to assist me to become one.

Integrity. I believe that a person should be honest in any aspect of his or her own life. Wherever life takes you and under any circumstances the level of your integrity will allow you to make the right choice and become a better person in the long term.

Trust. I respect people that I can trust and in turn they can trust me. I believe success can only come when you and your business partner or friend are on the same page, where everything is clear and there is no room for uncertainty and craftiness. I will live my life always trying to find people I can trust.

Commitment. Even though I think it is crucial to have a goal in life it does not do you any good unless you are truly committed to it. When someone has a goal, he or she needs to be committed to it 100% – this is the only way to achieve that goal. I live by this assumption.

Creativity. It is an important personal value because when you have a goal and you are committed to it, you still need to be able to figure out how you will achieve that goal. In today’s growing business world it is especially substantial to be creative. You have to go after your goal by whatever it takes as long as it is ethical and does not make any one else’s life worse.

This is just my personal take on the importance of personal values. I encourage anyone to share their thoughts on the points mentioned above.

2 Responses to “How shall we live?”


  1. January 7, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    More than anything else in both my personal and business relationships, I need to have respect for the person. People need to practice what they preach. There is nothing worse than hypocrite.

  2. 2 Eldar Dzhafarov
    January 7, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Yes, if you practice what your preach it makes you that much more credible and people can see that you know what you are talking about.


Leave a Reply

My Brand

My purpose is to write and share ideas about sustainability, best business practices, and personal and business ethics.

Connect with me:
January 2010
M T W T F S S
     
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Delicious:


