07
Jan
10

Differences in leadership styles. My personal take

[tweetmeme source=”eldardzhafarov” only_single=false]
Being from Russia, I can certainly relate to the fact that culture and gender play a key role in determining the leadership style of an individual. I have been working in the US for over two years now, and I can definitely say that there are substantial gender and culture differences in leadership styles between men and women when comparing the two countries – Russia and USA.

I have noticed that the Americans tend to be quick to the point and like to “seal the deal” if it makes perfect financial sense, whereas if you are doing business in Russia people like to take time to get to know the other party first before committing to the final agreement. Even though this example is more about the differences in negotiating techniques, it does have an effect on the leadership style. I would say that Russian leaders tend to be in a healthy medium between being autocratic and participative. We do enjoy having the authority, but we also like to establish long-term relationships with our employees, whereas from what I can tell after having worked in the US it is not always the case.

In order to advance the theoretical framework of gender and culture differences in leadership styles, I believe that the academia needs to spend more efforts in researching the cultural impacts on leadership so as to get a better understanding why there are so many differences in leadership behaviors between men and women. The differences cannot be explained by the style of leadership or gender alone, where the people are coming from in terms of their country of origin and its unique cultural characteristics needs to be taken into account as well.

I’d like to comment that this is just my own opinion and it might not be true in every case. I am just sharing my personal experiences that I formed while living in both Russia and the United States.

6 Responses to “Differences in leadership styles. My personal take”


  1. January 7, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Interesting to know. So, in your personal opinion, do you think we (U.S.) should try to form more of a relationship with our clients or do you think the “seal the deal” is a better approach? I think both is key, personally. For example, if you form a relationship with a client it makes sealing the deal quicker.

  2. January 7, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Oh, and the picture makes me want to sing, It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small world afterall. It’s a small, small world.

  3. January 7, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    I like your point about leadership styles and the cultural differences between the US and other foreign countries. Coming from Guam, an island in the Pacific and territory of the US, I too can relate to the cultural differences between business back home and business here. Keep up the good posts, look forward to your next one.

  4. 4 Eldar Dzhafarov
    January 7, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Melissa, I completely agree with your conclusion that “if you form a relationship with a client it makes sealing the deal quicker.”

    Jace, thank you for the good feedback on my post!

  5. January 10, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Eldar,

    I could not agree with you more. Both my parents were not born in the U.S., therefore, I have had the advantage of learning multiple cultures. All it takes is a little research to see what your employees want and how to pursue them. Here in the U.S. we are very quick to judge and want everything done now. This is a great post to teach others that everything is not done the same as in the U.S.

    http://en.wordpress.com/erikaibaibarriaga


Leave a Reply

My Brand

My purpose is to write and share ideas about sustainability, best business practices, and personal and business ethics.

Connect with me:
January 2010
M T W T F S S
     
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Delicious:


